login    password    artist  buyer  gallery  
Not a member? Register
[an error occurred while processing this directive]
Indepth Arts News:

"Turner Prize"
2000-10-25 until 2001-01-14
Tate Britian
London, , UK United Kingdom

Tate Britain is home of the Turner Prize, awarded annually to a British artist under 50 for an outstanding presentation of their work in the last year. The Prize was established in 1984 by the Tate Gallery's Patrons of New Art and is intended to promote public discussion of new developments in contemporary British art. It is widely recognised as one of the most important and prestigious awards for the visual arts in Europe.

The winner of the £20,000 Prize will be announced at Tate Britain on 28 November 2000 during a live broadcast by Channel 4. Work by the shortlisted artists will be shown in an exhibition at Tate Britain from 25 October 2000 until 14 January 2001.

The shortlisted artists for this year's prize are:

Glenn Brown for his exhibitions at Jerwood Space London, and at Max Hetzler Gallery, Berlin, and Patrick Painter Gallery, Los Angeles in which he showed the rich and complex development of his work, which poses questions about authorship and status in art through paintings portraying works from old master pictures to science fiction illustrations.

Michael Raedecker for his arrestingly original approach to the medium of painting, his unusual use of materials and often haunting subject matter, and the further evolution of his work as seen in his exhibitions at the Stedelijk Van Abbemuseum, Eindhoven, and his current exhibition at The Approach, London.

Tomoko Takahashi for her installations, characterised by a unique tension between chaos and order, seen in New Neurotic Realism at the Saatchi Gallery, London, and Generation z at PS1, New York, and most recently for her internet project Word Perhect with Chisenhale Gallery and e-2 http://www.chisenhale.org.uk.

Wolfgang Tillmans for his exhibitions at Interim Art, London, Städtische Galerie, Remscheid, and Andrea Rosen Gallery, New York, all in 1999 and for a number of publications of his work which strikingly engages with contemporary culture while challenging the boundaries between art and photography and between the genres of portraiture, documentary and still life.

The members of the Turner Prize 2000 jury are:

Jan Debbaut, Director of the Stedelijk Van Abbemuseum, Eindhoven

Keir McGuiness, Chairman of Patrons of New Art

Julia Peyton-Jones, Director of the Serpentine Gallery

Matthew Slotover, Publisher of Frieze magazine

Nicholas Serota, Director of Tate and Chairman of the Jury

An extensive events programme of discussions and talks has been organised throughout the UK, including Belfast, Glasgow, Liverpool, Manchester, Southampton, St Ives and Sunderland. I

Related Links:


Discover over 150,000 works of contemporary art. Search by medium, subject matter, price and theme... research over 200,000 works by over 22,000 masters in the indepth art history section. Browse through new Art Blogs. Use our advanced artwork search interface.

Call for Artists, Premiere Portfolio sign-up for your Free Portfolio or create an Artist Portfolio today and sell your art at the marketplace for contemporary Art! Start a Gallery Site to exclusively showcase your gallery. Keep track of contemporary art with your free MYabsolutearts account.


Copyright 1995-2013. World Wide Arts Resources Corporation. All rights reserved